Playing Catch Up

In my very first blog post, I wrote three goals down. None of them included writing a post everyday, but I’m slowly adding that one to the list of things I would like to accomplish.

I’ve missed the last 3 days of Blogging 201 because I was racing in Sandusky, Ohio, so I’m here today playing catch up:

Day 5: Make the most of archives.

  • Blogging 201 suggests drawing traffic to older content on my blog. Considering I’m extremely new to this world, I’ll hold off on that one.

Day 6: Dig deep into a social network.

  • Find a social media site that can promote my blog. I have a Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, Pinterest and Snapchat account, but I don’t think I’m comfortable with sharing my blog with people who know me yet. There’s something about writing to complete strangers that is oddly easy and stress free. You don’t know me and I don’t know you…. at least, not yet! I plan on sticking to WordPress for a while, before posting hashtags and links to any of my other social media accounts.

social media

Day 7: Make the most of events.

  • Create a recurring blog event on your site. Now this topic I found to be very enticing. As I’ve posted in a previous blog topic, I race cars as a hobby. Many people find it interesting that a “girl” can drive a race car and that I’m pretty good too. I think I’m going to start a weekly event on my page asking other bloggers to write about their unique hobbies and I’ll pick one that I think is most interesting and feature it on my page. I’m always looking for new things to get involved in and would love to hear what other people like doing in their spare time!

Keep an eye out for that event! Also considering creating different topics and categorizing my posts based on the content. Some ideas I have and love talking or writing about:

  • Racing, Fitness, Twenty Somethings, Music Reviews, Home Improvement, Weddings and Money.
Leave a Reply

