Quarter Life Crisis

I’m not even 25 and I feel like I’m on the brink, if not already having a quarter life crisis.

21A few weeks ago I stumbled upon 2 books on Amazon, while googling “quarter life crisis”…..

  1. The Quarter-Life Breakthrough by Adam Smiley Poswolsky
  2. 101 Secrets for Your Twenties by Paul Angone

I’m about half way through both books and both have some very valid points, but I’m not buying into the whole “glass is half full” mindset just yet. I really liked the 21st secret…

I mentioned in an earlier post that my fiance and I just bought our first house. It popped up on the market about 2 months ago and it’s only 3 houses down from where we rent now (we’re currently renting from a family member & I don’t help pay rent or utilities) After I graduated from college, I basically moved right in with my fiance and we decided it would be best for me to save money (yeah right!) and I do the laundry, clean, groceries, shop, dogs etc. Totally fine with our current situation. UNTIL this house showed up. Its super close to both our families and work and was truly a god send when we found it. So, we put an offer in and it was accepted and here we are today.

We walked through the house last night, cleaned up some belongings that were left and took kitchen cabinet doors off (because we’re painting/re-facing them) took an unnecessary banister down and some doors that we did like off.ktichen After finishing up some demolition, we sat down to make a list of everything we need to get for our projects this weekend. When the list got longer than 10 lines, I minor-ly freaked out! This freak-out had been brewing from earlier yesterday afternoon, after I set up a budget in excel. I figured out that I actually spend more money than I make on my measly hourly rate. Adding in half the mortgage left me with nothing to deposit into my savings, no shopping, no bars, no golf, no gym membership. Basically no life.

My fiance keeps trying to talk me off the ledge, but he’s been unsuccessful in his attempts thus far. So, I’m going to continue to freak out until I either come up with some magic money, land a second job or win the lottery.

I’ve applied to 3 different jobs today and heard back for an interview from one. My problem lands with my very time consuming hobby that I participate in on basically every weekend from April to October (and then football season starts) so, I have like no available weekends. What company wants to hire a part time person who can’t work weekends…..NONE!

Other than not having money, I’m quarter life freaking out about numerous other topics….

  • Studying abroad or traveling in general
  • My fiance is 12 years older than me, settling down is a must at this point
  • Family members ask when we’re getting married
  • Where are we getting married
  • When are we having kids
  • What all are we upgrading on our new house
  • When am I going to jump the corporate ladder and get out of my receptionist job
  • Losing weight
  • Working out
  • Going back to school

As you can see my list is quite extensive and never-ending, so I won’t bore you with more useless bullet points. Here’s a fav BuzzFeed article on this very topic (I feel like every point applies to me).Β http://www.buzzfeed.com/tahliapritchard/25-signs-youre-having-a-quarter-life-crisis#.re0eKPPjj

Enjoy your weekend kids. We’ll be painting, weeding and cleaning-away ours!

house

Leave a Reply

